Royal Charter Company

The Royal Charter Company

District State in the United Kingdom County Statute in the United Kingdom shall be conferred by Royal Statute on the counties of England, Wales and Northern Ireland. Voluntary in nature, the statute does not confer any extra authority on the Governing Board or the residents of the area. Similarly charters in Scotland have been referred to as royal cities, although the charter is no longer valid.

Up to the 1973 and 1974 reform of the regional governments, the districts were cities with statutes that conferred significant authority and were administered by a municipality under the leadership of a canon. Companies had been restructured by law which began in 1835 (1840 in Ireland). Most of the older communities could be traced back to mediaeval documents or were of Saxon descent.

The majority of the areas established after 1835 were new cities of industry, health resorts or suburbs, which had emerged after the end of the war. Municipal enterprises could also have the statute of a municipality. District statute no longer means a municipality or an area. Beyond Greater London, counties in metro and non-metropolitan areas shall be accorded county district designation under the terms of Section 245 of the Local Government Act 1972 of the District Government.

In this section, the counsellor of a Rotary district may ask the sovereign for a charter that will give him or her the statute of a Rotary area. After receiving the request, the priest may, on the recommendation of the Privy Councillor, issue a charter: The documents provided under the 1972 Act may allow the municipal authorities to nominate "local dignitaries" previously nominated by an eliminated municipal group.

Citizen benefits or entitlements of a former district may be granted to the residents of the new district. The municipal councillors can make a decision which makes "persons of rank" and "persons who have served outstandingly" honourable members of the district. Beverley1 avril 1974[8][9] Beverley (reformiert 1835)Umbenannt in East Yorkshire Beverley 1981.

Repealed 1996. Boothferry28 April 1978[15]Goole (1933)Goole had charter trustee 1974-1978. Repealed 1996. Brighton1 April 1974[8][9]Brighton (1854)Repealed 1997. The East Staffordshire11 May 1992[17]Burton upon Trent (1878)Charter fiduciaries for Burton worked 1974-1992. In 2003 they were officially phased out. √Čllesmere Port1 April 1974[8][9]√Čllesmere Port (1955)renamed Ellesmere Port and Neston 1976. Repealed in April 2009. Grimsby1 April 1974[8][9]Grimsby (reformed 1835)Renamed Great Grimsby 1979, abrogated 1996.

Rochester (Reformed 1835), Chatham (1890)Renamed Rochester-upon-Medway in 1979, and with municipal law. The North Wolds1 April 1974[8][9]Bridlington (1899)Renamed East Yorkshire in 1981. Oswestry1 April 1974[8][9]Oswestry Rural Community (Reformed 1835)Repealed in April 2009. Restormel1 April 1974[8][9]St. Exhibition with poultry (formed in 1968, incl. poultry 1913) Repealed in April 2009. Stoke-on-Trent1 April 1974[8][9] (and urban status)Stoke-on-Trent constituted in 1910, inclusive of the municipalities of Hanley (founded 1857), Longton (1865), Burslem (1878), Stoke-upon-Trent (1874).

1835Andover had charter trustee 1974-1976. Wolverhampton, April 1, 1974. 8 ][9] Award of urban designation 2000Wolverhampton (1848). In 1967 he took over the district of Bilston (founded in 1938). Yorkshire (2)1996 (and Urban Status) Issued 1996. Its district statute goes back to 1965, although each of them had previously encompassed districts of municipalities, districts or cities:

Municipalities set up in 1974 were repealed in 1996 by the 1994 Wales Act. Under the 1994 Act, Section 245 of the 1972 Municipal Government Act was modified to allow the new Single Circuit Boards set up by the Act to request a Charter in a similar way to the old Circuit Boards.

After receipt of a statute a circle became a "circle district".

Mehr zum Thema